1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

A bridge or dslr?

Discussion in 'What Camera Should I Buy?' started by angelxx36, Jul 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. angelxx36

angelxx36 New Member

I am a very enthusiastic photographer and am learning all about it at moment. I currently have a compact camera but would like to upgrade. Is a bridge camera the best thing to get next and learn all the stuff on there or should I get a dslr now?

sent from my lush note 2

2. Andy Stanton

Andy Stanton Super Moderator Super Moderator

It depends on what you want to do with a new camera.
    If you want the best image quality for the price, a larger camera, a wide array of manual controls and the ability to change lenses, a DSLR is the appropriate purchase.

If you want a larger camera with manual controls that has one very long range lens, that can also take close macro shots, you should consider a non-compact ultrazoom. If you want a pocket sized camera that has the one long lens, a compact ultrazoom may be for you. But keep in mind that ultrazooms don't have appreciably better image quality than compact cameras.

3. KCook

KCook Well-Known Member