Advice on lens with Canon T5i and extended warranty good??

Discussion in 'What Camera Should I Buy?' started by fredbergy, Nov 26, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fredbergy

fredbergy New Member

Hi,

i'm a newbie that will buy it's first semi-pro camera. My search ended up with Canon T5i.

I want to have a lens for zooming, another do it all one (as the 18-55mm), macro one and another for taking picture in low light.

I'm in Canada and the best deal i found was at futureshop.

Price is in canadian fund but now they are basically the same value!

with 18-55mm lens : 730$ (regular price 799$)

with 18-135mm lens : 899$ (regular price 999$)

And this awesome kit including 40mm+18-55mm+75-300mm : 899$ (regular price 1279$)

Is the last kit is the best deal?

Do i have to worry about the gap (from 55-75mm) with this kit or never mind?

For all these kit is the same cost for an extended warranty. For 4 years it's 209$. It cover all the lenses and T5i body.(don't apply if it's dropped on the floor, in water...) Only for electronic failure.. It include 4 body cleaning by a professional shop (once a year). The warranty is transferable so if i sell the body in 2 years the body will still be covered by a warranty..

So do you think it's a good deal??

Is a Canon T5i and the canon lens can have electronic failure?

Your advice on this?

Thanks a lot for your response!!!

Fred

2. Andy Stanton

Andy Stanton Super Moderator Super Moderator

For general shooting the 18-135mm lens is more versatile (7x optical zoom) than the 18-55mm lens (3x) but it's considerably larger and heavier. I'd pick up the Canon 50mm f/1.8 lens for portraits, low light and macros. As far as a long zoom lens is concerned the Canon 75-300mm lens is fine unless you need to shoot indoor action shots, in which case a lens with a wider aperture would be preferable.

3. fredbergy

fredbergy New Member

4. Andy Stanton