Another "bridge camera" search

Discussion in 'What Camera Should I Buy?' started by emissary, Feb 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. emissary

emissary Member

Outside of the 7 year old Finepix p&s that has sufficed for my family album/Facebook/general needs, I am a complete camera noob. Looking to take the next step, but not budgeting for a dslr. Here's where I'm at.
    Budget

* What budget have you allocated for buying this camera? Please be as specific as possible.
    $300-$500 (absolute top end)

Size
    Not a huge deal.

Features
    I like a lot of out-of-the-box features. I'm not a big accessory guy, so I like the multifunctional superzooms. I certainly want video capability, and would like a really good video quality. Would also like decent fps.

How many megapixels will suffice?
    Again, I'm a noob, so I don't know whether megapixels necessarily translate to a superior end product. I think they do, but correct me if I'm wrong. The models I'm looking @ are 12-15mp.

What optical zoom will you need? (None, Standard = 3x-4x, Ultrazoom = 10x-12x)

Prefer a lot. I'm looking at the superzooms.

* How important is “image quality” to you? (Rate using a scale of 1-10)

I can't quantify it. It is definitely important, but I believe that anything I get will be such a huge step up for me that the differences that you all see as huge will be borderline undetectable for me. In other words, I'm not smart enough to know the difference in a truly superb picture and a really good one.

Do you care for manual exposure modes (shutter priority, aperture priority, manual)?

Sounds cool. Should I care? The models I'm looking at do have these functinos.

General Usage

* What will you generally use the camera for?
    General usage. Family photos, sunsets (we watch it over the lake every night, and would like to record a few). Everyday stuff. Some close ups, but nothing intense.

* Will you be making big prints of your photos or not?