Brand Newbie Here - Just a few questions

Discussion in 'What Camera Should I Buy?' started by shazrules, Mar 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shazrules

shazrules New Member

Hi everyone,

Thanks heaven's I've found you all!

My sweet husband has purchased me an Olympus 520e digital SLR in preparation for our trip to Townsville in 8 days :)

I'm from the point and shoot automatic camera background but have always wanted an SLR. Now I have one and I'm wondering:-

* What do I drastically need to learn before we go away so that I get a few good shots?

* Is there anything I should buy that will make my life easier? I have 2 lenses which came with the camera.

* what's your best advice for a novice SLR owner?

Many thanks!

Sharon

2. Andy Stanton

Andy Stanton Super Moderator Super Moderator

A DSLR is more complicated than a point and shoot and the Olympus E520 has many different options available - far too many for you to learn well in a few days. My advice is to keep the camera on auto and don't change lenses. There will be time enough to learn how to best use your camera after the trip is over.

3. kaptain howdie

kaptain howdie Member

run down to your local bookstore and see if they have a "digital field guide" for your olympus. its a step up from the instruction manual and has some great over views on how to set your camera.

also try camera labs web site that gives great shooting tips for many conditions

4. shazrules

shazrules New Member

Re: Brand Newbie Here - Update

Just a follow up on this post, the trip to Townsville was duly photographed and I am VERY impressed with the Olympus 520e. The battery life is amazing - I only had to charge it once on the 2 week trip and it got some pretty heavy use, the photo quality is fantastic. Because we had a lot of driving to do a lot of photos were taken at 110km/h out of the passenger window and in all honesty they look like I'd been standing still and framing the shots.