Camera for food photography (utter beginner)

Discussion in 'What Camera Should I Buy?' started by beastoftrall, Jan 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. beastoftrall

beastoftrall Member

Hi there!

I tried looking for an answer for this, but couldn't find a straight-up one. Would very much appreciate any help.

I am a complete beginner to photography. I mainly want a camera because my major hobby is cooking, and I want to start taking high-quality pictures of the food I make and/or eat in other places, and possibly start a food blog. Being a perfectionist, I tend to read and learn a lot about everything I do - so if you guys think it will help me take better photos, I want a camera with manual controls (shutter, etc). I do not mind spending time learning about all of this. However, if you don't think that this is particularly necessary for food photography, I can certainly live without it.

As for the specifications, here's the answers to your FAQ:

Well, I don't really have a set budget, but I don't want to go over the top (this is just a hobby, after all). I guess something in the 150-300$ range, but exceptions can certainly be made if, say, there's an amazing one for 350$.

I mainly intend to use this for in-house food photography, but I do want to be able to carry it around when I travel, or if I go out to a restaurant and want to take pictures of their food. Does not have to fit in my pocket, though.

I don't know, something modern I guess. 10? 12?

You guys would know more about this than I do. From the food pictures I've seen, a good zoom seems to be necessary - but I don't really know if it's a 3-4 or a 10-12. More is better, anyway.

Very. I want every detail to pop up, and the colors to shine.

Like I said, I'm a perfectionist. Manual control is very much preferred, but if there's no good ones for the price, so be it.

Like I've said quite a few times, mainly food photography.

Doubt it.