Can I buy Nikon p80?(Eagerly waiting for your Replies)

Discussion in 'Nikon' started by Brahmaasmi, Apr 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brahmaasmi

Brahmaasmi Member

I have been using Nikon coolpix(L6) for last 2 years.

Now, I needed a camera with atleast 10 MP & >5x Optical Zoom... + MANUAL MODE for adjusting (Shutter speed, Aperture length, ISO) + To shoot small movies with sound

P80 had everything I needed..I would like to buy that ..I read the prvious blogs that this had replica of Fuji's lenses..Can you please suggest me

1) Can I buy P80 ...is the lens quality good as with every camera of Nikon ?
    2) Or can I go for equivalent canon (i hate Canon personally as the picture quality lacks Gaama factor)
    3) Better can I go for any DSLR camera.if i take a DSLR,willI be able to shoot movies with sound..(IS it too difficult to operate a DSLR ?)

thanx,

2. David Rasnake

David Rasnake News/Review Writer News/Review Writer

You won't be able to shoot movies with a DSLR, so if that's a primary criteria for you, that option is out.

The P80 is a complete unknown at this point. It seems like it will be a strong camera, but Nikon hasn't been consistent with the Coolpix line of late - making some excellent camera but also some very average ones.

The similarities between the Nikon's lens and those from other manufacturers (Fuji) have probably been overstated, though I suppose anything is possible.

The closest Canon offering is the (somewhat aging though still quite good) S5 IS. It's a very solid camera, though I haven't a clue what you mean by Canons lacking "gaama," so I can't provide insight in this regard.

dr

3. usapatriot

usapatriot Well-Known Member

Well the Nikon P80 was just recently announced and I do not think that many people have gotten their hands on it yet so as far as image quality goes we really do not know much.