Can't get pictures off camera

Discussion in 'Kodak (Eastman Kodak)' started by kimberlylarae, May 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kimberlylarae

kimberlylarae New Member

I am a total newbie, so please try to be patient.

This is probably the most often heard problem "I can't get the %$#&$! pictures off the camera!!" Well, I'm sorry but you're going to hear it again I'm afraid. I bought a Kodak EasyShare C160. I installed the software and that went well. But I can't get the pictures off the camera. When I plug the camera into the computer nothing happens. So I click on the Kodak EasyChare Icon in the lower right of my desktop and it says Transfer now so I click it and it says select device for tranfer and there is disk picture with D:/ and I click transfer and there is a folder called shared documents and in shared photos there's a folder called Kodak Pictures which is empty. So I opened Kodak easyshare preferences and asked it to put the photos in my Pictures folder and hit tranfer, but there's no pictures. The memory card was in my other camera, and there was some pictures on it but I reformatted it and the old pictures are gone.

Is there anything else I can try? I'd really appreciate anything that might work.

2. Andy Stanton

Andy Stanton Super Moderator Super Moderator

In a typical computer, consisting of a hard drive and a DVD/CDROM drive, "D:/" signifies a sector of your hard drive where your restore information is stored (in case you have a severe problem and have to restore the computer to where it was when you first bought it). If that's the case with your computer, the Easyshare software was configured wrongly when it was installed. It loaded your pictures onto the "D" drive instead of the "C" drive - the remaining portion of your hard drive used for data. Your pictures should not be on the "D" drive - nothing but restore information should be on it.