Choices between Sony Alpha series

Discussion in 'What Camera Should I Buy?' started by Katjaneway, Nov 2, 2016.

1. Katjaneway

Katjaneway New Member

Budget

What budget have you allocated for buying this camera? Please be as specific as possible: It really depends, I don't want to go over $1,700 (not including a kit lens) but I'm fine with getting used. I pulled this number from seeing a A7S used for $1700 normally they are over $2,000 and I wouldn't pay that much. I'm not sure if the A7S is *necessary* however, the ISO is incredible, but I'm also not a professional photographer and don't intend to sell my photos and think I might be able to get by with something less?

Size

What size camera are you looking for? Or does size not matter at all to you?
    : Need a full frame mirrorless camera.

Features

How many megapixels will suffice for you?
    : 20+ MP would be ideal

What optical zoom will you need?: I don't use optical zoom; at least not currently on my NEX-5N because it's a pain in the ass to use

How important is “image quality” to you? (Rate using a scale of 1-10): 10

Do you care for manual exposure modes (shutter priority, aperture priority, manual)?: YES.

General Usage

What will you generally use the camera for?
    : landscape photography, including astrophotography (I bought a Samyang 14mm ultra wide f2.8 lens)

Will you be making big prints of your photos or not?: I would like to, but it's not required

Will you be shooting a lot of indoor photos or low light photos?: low light as in milky way photos, yes.

Will you be shooting sports and/or action photos?: Not really

Miscellaneous

Are there particular brands you like or hate?
    : I need to keep the brand Sony E-Mount because of the Samyang lens I bought.

Are there particular models you already have in mind?
    : The Sony Alpha series line