d5000 lens

Discussion in 'Lenses and Accessories' started by scotty1234, Mar 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. scotty1234

scotty1234 Member

I just bought a Nikon D5000. I’m looking into buying a new lens. Any ideas?

I’m a completely novice photographer and have no specific use for the lens.
    I take more landscape and macro shots. I was thinking a 55mm-200mm or 70-300mm because of the versatility, but don’t know if that would be good for a beginner or who makes a good lens.

I don’t have a tripod and need the VR and AF-s features. I was planning to spend around $200, but would spend more if there is a good deal.

Let me know what you guys think.
    Thanks

2. scotty1234

scotty1234 Member

Re: Which DSLR

thanks guys, i think i'm gonna go with the d5000.
    it's $100 cheaper and someone at best buy told me they are discontinuing the xsi...???

do you guys know of any good lenses for the d5000. I'm a novice photographer with no set intention for the lens. i was planning on spending $200 but will pay more if there's a good deal.
    i was thinking 55mm-200mm or a 70mm-300mm because of the versatillity

3. KCook

KCook Well-Known Member

My shooting is almost entirely landscapes. So far no need for a telephoto. I would suggest getting up to speed with the "kit" lens that comes with the camera before worrying about buying additional lenses.

Kelly Cook

4. scotty1234

scotty1234 Member

It's actually a gift, in 2 parts. I'm graduating a receiving the lense as a gift and they asked me which 1 i wanted. I have no idea

5. Andy Stanton

Andy Stanton Super Moderator Super Moderator

Re: Which DSLR