Difference between ISO and EV

Discussion in 'Photography' started by Danny1911, Jul 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Danny1911

Danny1911 New Member

I have recently acquired a new digital camera from my father (a stylus verve). Anyway I decided to learn all of the terms in the menu and different techniques behind the picture, and have been reading up on the internet lately.

My question is, what is the main difference between ISO and EV?
    They both seem similiar controlling shutter speed and brightness of image.
    But how do you know which one to change in a given situation?

(P.S sorry if i sound like a complete newb)

Thank You everybody!

2. usapatriot

usapatriot Well-Known Member

The ISO is how sensitive the sensor/film is to light. A lower sensitivity means that it gathers less light than a higher sensitivity. Since the higher sensitivity gathers more light faster, you can use a faster shutter speed.

A picture shot at 1/125 at ISO 100 is the same as a picture shot at 1/250 at ISO 200.

The higher the ISO the more noise in pictures while the lower the ISO the less noise in pictures.

EV means exposure value and/or it can also refer to the exposure compensation on a camera.

An EV value of zero means that the camera has chosen the exposure by itself, if you add +1EV you are making the image one stop brighter, for example if you were shooting at 1/60 on auto setting, if the picture were to come out too dark you apply +1EV and the camera will then shoot the picture at 1/30 to let more light in. Same goes for making a picture darker by removing -1EV, the camera would then shoot the shot at 1/125 which would mean less light and a darker shot.

3. Danny1911

Danny1911 New Member

thank you so far, just one more thing please.

so basically ev controls the shutter speed while iso controls brightness right?