Frustrated with Blurred Photos

Discussion in 'Photography' started by gracej, Jan 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gracej

gracej New Member

I purchased the Canon SX110IS a couple months ago. I liked that it had auto/easy modes (I'm a beginner), as well as the versatility to grow with the manual modes. So far every picture I've taken with people in the shot come out blurry . . .even shots of my dogs sleeping are blurry! Most of the shots have been taken indoors without the flash as lighting was adequate. Even with the flash on, I still get blurry photos. I've done a little experimenting with the aperture/shutter priority but still can't get any clear focused shots of people. I even had my husband pose for me while I experimented to no avail. Shouldn't I be able to get clear people photos with the "auto/easy" mode? Can anyone help me understand what I'm doing wrong? I find myself pulling out my very old HP point and shoot which always takes clear focused pics - its very frustrating!

2. Andy Stanton

Andy Stanton Super Moderator Super Moderator

Do you have optical image stabilization set to on?

It would help if you uploaded some pictures or provided a link to them if they are on another site, so we could take a look for ourselves.

3. CalebSchmerge

CalebSchmerge Super Moderator/Reviewer News/Review Writer

My first thought it to reset the camera to factory settings -check your instruction manual for how to do that. If that fails, then I would wonder if there is something wrong with the focus systems in the camera. As Andy said though, if you can show us some examples of what these photos look like, we can do a much better job of suggesting what could be wrong and how to fix it.

4. gracej

gracej New Member