Help Printing Decent Photos!

Discussion in 'Photo Printers' started by MyPhotosSuk, Jan 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MyPhotosSuk

MyPhotosSuk New Member

Ok, I'm REALLY frustrated so bear with me. :)

I have just acquired a camera I really like. Fujifilm Finepix F70 EXR
    It takes pictures that look really good both on the camera LCD and my monitor. But then I print them and they are really awful. Indoor pictures are very dark. Some have a blue tint. My cream colored cat looks grey, the fuscha pillow on my couch looks almost black, faces are not natural colors....

I am not doing any editing so it's not a case me editing them incorrectly on a poorly calibrated monitor. I am not a professional and am not expecting professional quality. Just decent 4x6 snapshots that look like the picture I took! I thought digital was supposed to produce better shots the 35mm, these dont even come close to the point and shoot 35mm photos I used to have developed at costco. :-(

I have been told to calibrate my monitor, thereby making my good pictures look too dark and then "fix" them with editing sortware to bring them back up the the original quality, and THEN print them. Are you kidding me??!!? Is this really my only option?

The two printers I'm using are HP D7260 an Canon Selphy CP780.

ANY help would be greatly GREATLY appreciated!!!

2. Andy Stanton

Andy Stanton Super Moderator Super Moderator

If the photos look good on your camera's LCD and computer monitor, the problem is with your printers and not the camera or monitor.

I'm surprised at your printing results as the Canon Selphy CP780 is supposed to be a pretty good photo printer. The Canon has some editing features to help improve your photos. Have you tried them out?

3. MyPhotosSuk

MyPhotosSuk New Member

I have.