Options for entry-level DSLR

Discussion in 'What Camera Should I Buy?' started by redy, Feb 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. redy

redy New Member

Hi,

I am looking to gift my wife an entry-level DSLR. She is a total beginner. I am just looking for information on my options on a budget upto 800$.

I am just having difficulty enumerating the options first leave alone comparing them. From what I have seen so far:

Nikon: D3000 and D5000

Canon: Rebel Xs, Rebel XSi, Rebel T1i and Rebel T2i

Pentax K-x

I wanted to know if there any further alternatives. Once I get the list down I can begin comparing but as of know I am not sure what the options even are, hence the question.

Thank you very much for your patience and help.

2. Andy Stanton

Andy Stanton Super Moderator Super Moderator

Have you all considered that a DSLR might be too much camera for your wife, since she is a total beginner? You can't really get that much out of a DSLR unless you're willing to put in the time and effort to learn how to use its many photographic features, such as its manual exposure controls. With DSLR's you also have the factors of changing lenses and using the viewfinder, not the LCD, to frame your photos (more expensive DSLR's do let you frame your photo with the LCD but the process is often very slow). Generally, beginners start with less challenging point and shoot cameras and, once they get some experience, move up to a DSLR. For instance, a compact ultrazoom like the Sony DSC H20 is not too expensive, has excellent auto features that are good for beginners plus manual exposure controls that your wife can experiment with when she's ready.