powershot G9 techniques anyone?

Discussion in 'Photography' started by roughpastels, Jan 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. roughpastels

roughpastels Member

hi there, i'm a graphic artist and i recently purchased a G9 to take pictures of my graphic work. i usually take pics while the cam is on a tripod and i photograph flat pieces of art that are hanging on the wall. i need to get the whole shot of the work hanging on the wall and i'm asking if anyone knows a proper setting to shoot a flat square or rectangle without a bowing effect? i cannot crop to the image because i need to reflect how the piece hangs on the wall. i know i can buy an lens conversion kit but i have no idea what lens would create a flattening effect and not make a square or rectangle bow. is there a setting on the cam that will lessen this bowing effect? or possibly a lens attachment that will do this?

2. CalebSchmerge

CalebSchmerge Super Moderator/Reviewer News/Review Writer

It sounds to me you are experience trouble with the lens (distortion). I understand you need to have the entire image, but trying moving around and using different zooms to see if it gets better or worse.

3. roughpastels

roughpastels Member

i've tried so many angles, heights, zoom settings, etc. i still get some form of distortion and bowing. before the G9, i had a ricoh GR digital, which was of course even worse because of the fixed wide angle so i just ended up using the ricoh for a street shooter. there has to be some sort of filter that will lessen the lens distortion and flatten the subject. thanks so much for replying caleb, much appreciated!

4. CalebSchmerge