Sony Cameras

Discussion in 'What Camera Should I Buy?' started by X6StringerX, May 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. X6StringerX

X6StringerX Member

Budget

<$300... the cheaper the better

Size

My head tells me to get a compact camera, but as I think back at the times I've carried my current camera, I don't think it would have bothered me to have had something a little larger. I'm still trying to decide.

Features

I would like to be able to print a decent 8x10 every now and again, so I'm assuming something in the 7-8 range would suffice.

* What optical zoom will you need?

Minimum 3x

* How important is “image quality” to you?

I'm not a professional, but I would say 9-10. The whole point of purchasing a new camera is so I can produce better quality photos.

Do you care for manual exposure modes?

Like I said, I'm not a professional, so I'd like something easy to use. One thing that I would like is the ability to snap a few consecutive shots in a short amount of time.

General Usage

Vacations, family get togethers, maybe a football game or two, vehicles, etc..

* Will you be making big prints of your photos or not?

I can't imagine ever printing anything bigger than an 8x10

Will you be shooting a lot of indoor photos or low light photos?

Indoor - Yes Low Light - Probably

Will you be shooting sports and/or action photos?

Yes

Miscellaneous

Are there particular brands you like or hate?

I really love Sony. I've had tremendous luck with all of their products... laptops, tvs, dvd players, gaming systems, etc.

Are there particular models you already have in mind?

I have two compact and one high zoom in mind: S730@$129, W150@$229, and the H10@$249

(If applicable) Do you need any of the following special features?

Image stabilization would be fantastic and I'm undecided about the wide angle. Doesn't that mean I'll have to crop my photos to make standardized prints like a 4x6" or 5x7"?

2. Caramel

Caramel Well-Known Member