Quantcast Please help me with camera ideas...

+ Reply to Thread

Default Please help me with camera ideas...

Hey everyone,
    I am new to digital photography and need some ideas on what cameras meet my needs and budget. I will use my camera almost strictly for major league baseball games and I usually sit 40-50 feet from the pitcher's mound. Zoom and Frames per Second in high resolution are very important in my purchase. I do not know whether to go with a DSLR like a Nikon D40 or something like a Nikon P90? Would I need to buy a lens for either of these (Again, admittedly, I don't know much about this stuff)? The camera does not have to be a Nikon.

Which camera should I buy?

This short questionnaire will help the rest of us make good camera recommendations for you. Please answer each question carefully and succinctly.

The questions marked with a * are the most important.

Budget

* What budget have you allocated for buying this camera? Please be as specific as possible.
    Around $500

Size

* What size camera are you looking for? Or does size not matter at all to you?
    Does not matter

Features

How many megapixels will suffice for you?
    I would like to blow some pictures up to 8x10 without losing much clarity. Maybe 10 megapixels or so.

* What optical zoom will you need? (None, Standard = 3x-4x, Ultrazoom = 10x-12x)
    I assume I need Ultrazoom. Again, I would be using to take baseball photos from 40-50 feet away.

* How important is “image quality” to you? (Rate using a scale of 1-10)

Do you care for manual exposure modes (shutter priority, aperture priority, manual)?
    I would prefer not to have much manual setting, but if it meets my other requirements, then it's ok.

General Usage

* What will you generally use the camera for?
    Sports

* Will you be making big prints of your photos or not?
    Almost all 4x6, but some up to 8x10

Will you be shooting a lot of indoor photos or low light photos?