Quantcast Nikon d5100 or canon eos d600?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Nikon d5100 or canon eos d600?

I am new to dslr and narrowed down my options to nikon d5100 and canon d600. Most of the features of these 2 are comparable, however d600 is costier here by us$ 150. (we have just two authorised dealers; one for canon and nikon each and no other choice). Given the feature comarison and many comments on other sites, i feel inclined to d5100. Yet i am not sure about 1., the jpeg image quality comparison and 2., how it will fare (cost / complexity) in terms of growing with either of the brands in the long run. Can i have, please, some guiding suggestion on what to choose based on my above two concerns and also the cost differential?

Super Moderator/Reviewer

Default Re: Nikon d5100 or canon eos d600?

The Nikon D5100 and Canon EOS 600D are both very good DSLR's with excellent image quality and speed. Here are the main differences.

In Canon's favor:
    Has more megapixels, 18 vs 16.
    Has digital zoom, the Nikon doesn't.
    Has a larger viewfinder.
    Has a better "live view" mode.
    Allows more control over video recording.
    Provides more dedicated control buttons (less access to the menu needed).

In Nikon's favor
    Automatically corrects for chromatic aberration (purple fringing), barrel distortion and pincushion distortion. the Canon does not.
    Has better low light image quality.
    Has more white balance presets, 12 vs 6.
    Has a more comprehensive smart auto mode.
    Has a better flash.
    Has a longer lasting battery between charges.
    My Gear:
    Panasonic FZ28
    Canon Elph 110 HS
    Canon A720IS (retired)