Quantcast ... more Camera Recommendations

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default ... more Camera Recommendations

Newbie here and having read many of the other posts asking for help, I'll insert my question, as well.

Being a photography novice at best, I currently use a Canon PowerShot SD1100 IS Digital ELPH. This info lets you know my approx dollar range for a new camera.

This has been a handy camera, given its size and ease of use, but it wasn't so friendly on a recent vacation. The battery life is short, and the length of time it takes between shots is unacceptable. I missed many opportunities while this PowerShot SD1100 was processing previous shots.

I don't require a lot of bells and whistles with my camera, but a basic upgrade to something that allows a reasonable number of shots per minute coupled with increased battery life would be good.

Hoping this provides enough info to get started here, I'll thank you for your thoughts.

Super Moderator/Reviewer

Default Re: ... more Camera Recommendations

The Canon Elph 100 HS and Panasonic SZ7 are two small, relatively inexpensive, quick cameras with good image quality and HD movie ability. Neither has particularly great battery life (rated about 220 shots per charge) but that's standard for today's small cameras. Both are much quicker than your SD1100. The SZ7 has a long 10x optical zoom while the Elph 100 has a 4x optical zoom.

Here are some sample images:
    SZ7
    panasonic sz7 - Flickr: Search

Elph 100
    canon elph 100 - Flickr: Search
    My Gear:
    Panasonic FZ28
    Canon Elph 110 HS
    Canon A720IS (retired)

Quote Originally Posted by Andy Stanton View Post
    Both are much quicker than your SD1100. The SZ7 has a long 10x optical zoom while the Elph 100 has a 4x optical zoom.