Quantcast Which camera for first born baby...

+ Reply to Thread

Default Which camera for first born baby...

Hi all,

I am currently 5 months pregnant and as this is my first born baby I am really excited and want to get the best camera possible in order to take those all important first baby pictures.

My ideal budget is around 150 euro (about 200 USD) but I am somewhat flexible on that... I can stretch it to 300 euro (400 USD) for an absolutely amazing camera. It is my first born after all.

I have no knowledge/experience as a photographer and haven't actually owned a camera for the last 12 years (the last camera I owned was a film camera). My husband does own a Fujifilm finepix F30 6.3MP, which I know was a great little camera when it first came out, but I believe that there cameras out there now which are much better. And pictures taken with it always seem slightly "foggy" (for lack of a better word)

A friend of mine is an amateur photographer and a camera collector so he knows a fair bit about camera's. So I asked him for advice on which camera to buy and he recommended the Olympus Pen E-PM1. As this camera is towards the ceiling of my budget, I need to know for sure that it is right for me. Which is why I am posting on this forum.

My main concern about this camera are:

Is it too advanced for my photography skills?
    Is it possible to take quick snaps with it? (i.e. kid does something cute take picture NOw!!!)

I've also read on quite a few forums that rather than upgrading a camera you should upgrade your photography skills and knowledge. (don't blame the tools, blame the carpenter) So I do wonder if my "dislike" for the finepix is down to my ineptitude or if that camera is truly worth an upgrade.

Are pictures made with the PEN going to be dramatically better than the finepix?

Now that I've explained my needs a bit, which alternative cameras would you recommend?